11 months in – News and Thanks!

by makeitglasgow

Scotland Pavilion Venice

Scotland Pavilion, Venice Biennale.

It doesn’t seem that long since I started at university. 11 months down the line I’m planning my final assessed degree show.  It seems very appropriate that my lovely friends Drew and Ian at The Virginia Gallery have kindly offered me use of the space for the show; they were the first new friends I made through Make It Glasgow and their support this year has been phenomenal. Thank you, Ian and Drew!

I can’t tell you too much about my final project yet as there is a fairly rigid schedule in place to promote all the graduate students’ degree shows, but I can reaveal it will be an exhibition (rather than any other type of curated project,) and will include work by an artist who works in audio and film making, an artist who works in sculpture, film and performance, and a poet.  It’s a huge privilege to be working with three artists who combine excellent, thought provoking work with wisdom and good humour; a curator’s dream, in fact.  Thank you, LL, SM and TS!

The show opens on Saturday 12 September and runs for a week, closing on Friday 18 September.*  Please visit!  I’ll be frazzled, tired and probably have wonky lipstick and paint in my hair but you’ll receive a warm welcome nonetheless.

That’s all for now. Watch this space for an update in the next few weeks…

*other degree shows are available. Check out Intermedia at CCA and McLellan Galleries, some really exciting work will be installed there.  Trust me, I’ve seen it.